Ethnology collection

The ethnological collection of the Fondation Gandur pour l’Art currently holds over one hundred objects from Latin America, and also various artifacts from other parts of the world (Asia, Oceania, Africa).

The pre-Columbian objects perfectly express the diversity of cultures that developed in Central and South America, from the third millennium BC to the arrival of the Conquistadores. Many of them are exceptional, both ancient and rare, as is this statue of a bifid tailed lizard, from the Guerrero State, or as is this Mayan urn, decorated with several heads of deities, each more impressive than the other.

The cultures of Colima, Nayarit, Diquis and the Olmec, Aztec and Maya civilizations, all of Central America, and in South America, the Andean cultures Inca and Moche, are well represented. With feathers, gold, silver, copper, tumbaga (alloy of copper and gold), with colourful terracotta, and a variety of local stones (andesite, granodiorite, turquoise, jade, lapis lazuli, serpentine,...), the collection is characterized by the variety of its themes reflectingcultures with strong imagination, where wildlife is omnipresent. Thus, it is an entire companyof monkeys, here on a golden pectoral, there on a jade plate, amphibians, birds, wild beasts (especially jaguars), reptiles and hybrid animals -like the famous plumed coyotewho, over time, have made the collection their home.

In addition, the collection is also rich with images of mere mortals, who are nevertheless representative of their culture: man becomes a jewelvase or whistle, and the shaman, caught in a metamorphosis, becomes jaguar or an owl. All these objects reflect the concerns of man whofragile in the face of Nature, calls on complex rituals to soothe the fearsome gods; they also sometimes humorously paint a picture of everyday life (birth, war, magic, games, death).

As recommended by the International Council of Museums (ICOM), the origin as well as the sources of the objects have been verified and belonged to old private collections.

La collection ethnologique de la Fondation Gandur pour l’Art compte actuellement une centaine d’objets provenant d’Amérique latine auxquels s’ajoutent quelques artefacts provenant d’autres régions du monde (Asie, Océanie, Afrique).

Les objets précolombiens évoquent à merveille la diversité des cultures qui se sont développées en Mésoamérique et en Amérique du sud, du troisième millénaire avant notre ère à l’arrivée des Conquistadores. Plusieurs d’entre eux sont tout à fait exceptionnels, à la fois anciens et rares, comme cette statue de lézard à queue bifide, de l’État du Guerrero, ou l’urne maya, décorée de plusieurs têtes de divinités, toutes plus impressionnantes les unes que les autres.

Les cultures de Colima, de Nayarit, de Diquis, ainsi que les civilisations olmèque, aztèque et maya, toutes d’Amérique centrale, et les cultures andines des Incas et des Mochicas en Amérique du sud, sont bien représentées. En plumes, en or, en argent, en cuivre, en tumbaga (alliage à base de cuivre et d’or), en terre cuite aux couleurs chatoyantes, et dans toute une série de pierres locales (andésite, granodiorite, turquoise, jade, lapis lazuli, serpentine,…), la collection se caractérise par la variété de ses thèmes: ils reflètent des cultures à l’imaginaire puissant, où la faune est omniprésente. C’est ainsi tout un peuple de singes, ici sur un pectoral d’or, là sur une plaque de jade, de batraciens, d’oiseaux, de fauves (particulièrement le jaguar), de reptiles et d’animaux hybrides (comme le célèbre coyote plumé) qui a, au fil du temps, élu domicile dans la collection.

À côté de cela, la collection est aussi riche d’images de simples mortels, mais qui n’en sont pas moins représentatives de leur culture: l’être humain s’y fait bijou, vase ou sifflet, et le chamane, surpris en pleine métamorphose, devient jaguar ou chouette. Tous ces objets témoignent des préoccupations de l’homme qui, fragile devant la nature, s’assure par la médiation de rituels complexes l’appui de dieux redoutables; ils évoquent aussi, parfois avec humour, son quotidien (la naissance, la guerre, la magie, les jeux, la mort).

Conformément aux recommandations du Conseil International des Musées (ICOM), la provenance des objets a été vérifiée et a pour origine d’anciennes collections privées.